BOOK REVIEW WHILE MY EYES WERE CLOSED BY LINDA GREEN

THE #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER. ‘A beautifully crafted novel of knife-edge suspense’ Amanda Prowse. A nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Room, Behind Closed Doors and Between You and Me.

One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa’s family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn’t a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa’s little girl is in danger of disappearing forever.

I  saw this in Asda and dived on it after seeing several bloggers praise for it ,that and I loved Linda’s last book .

I whizzed through this reading at any available opportunity .

This will have you hooked within a few chapters !

Every parents nightmare is played out in these pages and will really get under your skin.

A very chilling read and a very cleverly written ,I felt I was able to get into the characters heads which often left me feeling uncomfortable and disturbed .

A brilliantly styled psychological thriller packed with suspense and twists and turns .

 

 

Advertisements

BLOG TOUR THE MADAM BY JAMIE RAVEN

NEWS

Today it is my turn on this blog tour and ill be  sharing a extract from the book and my review at a later date . Do check out the other fantastic blogs taking part .

The thing was I had to start somewhere. There was no game plan as such. No obvious clues to follow up. I only had a bunch of names and a list of unanswered questions. But it would have to be enough. If I could just stir things up then maybe I’d get a result.

I’d spent four years going over it in my mind. Bracing myself for the day when Lizzie Wells would embark on a new career as an amateur sleuth.

Scar was right, of course. It was madness. I really had no idea what I was doing, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me doing it. I’d waited too long for this.

‘Let’s start with the flat you asked me to rent,’ Scar said. ‘As you know I’ve taken a one-bedroom place on a six-month lease, all paid up front. It’s in a part of Southampton called Bevois Valley. Nothing fancy, but it’s tidy and decently furnished.’

‘That’s good,’ I said. ‘I know the Valley. It’s where I used to live.’

‘I’ve also made a reservation for tonight at The Court Hotel. Room eighty-three. The one you wanted. Check in any time after two o’clock today. I didn’t tell them we’ll only be popping in and out.’

She reached into her handbag and took out a mobile phone.

‘As requested. It’s a pay-as-you-go smartphone. High-end model.’

I took the phone from her. It was slim and metallic grey.

‘Your number will show up in the display window when you switch it on,’ she explained. ‘I’ve put my own number in the contacts list.’

She then flipped over the first page of her notebook. ‘I checked up on the four names you gave me. They’re all still living in Southampton, which is what you suspected.’

‘Right, so let’s start with Ruby Gillespie.’

Scar took a sip of champagne and leaned forward across the table. Her breath smelled yeasty and sweet.

‘Ruby is still doing the same old shit,’ she said. ‘But I gather business is not as brisk as it used to be. There’s more competition from other escort agencies in the city and she’s found it hard to recruit new girls. That’s partly because the drink problem you told me about has got much worse. Word is she’s now an alcoholic and taken her eye off the ball.’

‘It was on the cards,’ I said.

‘The address you gave me near the Common checks out,’ Scar said. ‘She’s still living there by herself, and the house doubles as a brothel at times.’

I’d first met Ruby Gillespie at that very house after responding to one of her newspaper ads. A curvy brunette with dark Mediterranean features, Ruby was actually more attractive than most of the girls who worked for her. She exuded a charm that was natural and an air of sophistication that was not. I liked her at first and I was taken in by all the talk of being part of ‘a big happy family’ and having her full support if ever I got into trouble.

But when I did get into trouble she threw me to the wolves like a piece of stale meat. She refused to answer my calls while I was being held, and then in court she appeared as a witness for the prosecution. She claimed I’d once told her that I always carried a knife in my bag for protection. It was a lie, but the judge believed her.

 

BOOK REVIEW THE BUTTERFLY SUMMER BY HARRIET EVANS

Harriet Evans is the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer is her must-share new novel about Keepsake, a house in Cornwall that comes with a family legacy every bit as full of danger as it is of wonder. The Butterfly Summer is packed with unexpected plot twists that will make you gasp out loud and move you to tears – you’ll be desperate to add it to your shelf alongside the best of Santa Montefiore, Jojo Moyes and Kate Morton.

‘Harriet Evans is a master at creating characters you feel like you know inside out’ Heat

What magic is this?

You follow the hidden creek towards a long-forgotten house.

They call it Keepsake, a place full of wonder … and danger. Locked inside the crumbling elegance of its walls lies the story of the Butterfly Summer, a story you’ve been waiting all your life to hear.

This house is Nina Parr’s birthright. It holds the truth about her family – and a chance to put everything right at last.

Firstly thanks to Headline for sending me a beautiful proof copy to review ..It was covered in butterflies so I knew I was in for a summery treat .

There were certain parts I struggled to connect with at first but its a storyline that is really worth sticking with because it really is quite magical .

It is a story that unravels and is very mysterious .

Nina is on a journey of self discovery and to put the past to bed but what does she do when the past comes knocking ?

The relationship between mother and child features hugely in this book and how secrets can damage them .

I was shocked for most of the end part of the book , it shows things are not always as they seem .

A perfect summery read about love ,family and finding out where we come from .

Published 19th May

 

BOOK REVIEW THE ONE WE FELL IN LOVE WITH BY PAIGE TOON

Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion?

Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a musician seems to be spiralling down the drain.

Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother…

But these very different girls have one thing in common. Angus. The one they fell in love with…

firstly thanks to Sara-jade at Books and the city for my review copy which I received in my goody bag .

I am a huge Paige Toon fan and I did slightly geek out when I met her at  the spring blogger evening !

All her books are brilliant  and one of those authors you don’t even need to know what the book is about ,you are going to read it .

I was very lucky to hear Paige read an extract from this new book ,and it was a steamy extract … and had myself and other bloggers that evening very intrigued  to read more .

This is a great story about first love ,friendship and sisters .

It was so interesting to read about triplets who despite being identical are very different to each other except for their love for one boy …Angus .

Follow their journey as they grow up with Angus always in their lives .

Who gets the guy ? What jobs will they get ? where will these sisters go ?

Heart-warming and inspirational this is a book to fall in love with .

As usual I whizzed through but these characters are those that you kind of don’t want to say goodbye too .

My favourite was Rose who really feels she has lost all direction in her life and I took a liking for Toby who becomes a unusual ally in difficult times .

Forgiveness ,new beginnings and saying goodbye to the secrets of the past to look forward to the future .

Can these sisters do that ?

Paige has done it again ,readers you will not be disappointed .

I adored everything about it and the ending had a aww moment 🙂

Published 19th may

 

THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE BY VICTORIA WALTERS

Victoria Walters’ debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. ‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’ Heat

In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something.

Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas.

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four.

Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer…

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?

Get lost in Victoria Walters’ immensely touching debut novel, and discover a world that will capture your imagination and heart.

Firstly a huge thanks to Frances at Headline for sending me a copy to review .I had heard lot of  love for this story from other bloggers so I was so excited to read this .

And they were not wrong …this book is everything and had me gasping and hooked within the first few chapters .

My heart was chewed up and spat out reading this and I curse you authors for doing this but then I bless you for turning it round and creating something so beautiful .

This is a love story but not just about finding it with someone special but also with life itself .

I loved the friendships shown in this book and Roses zest for her passions and I could have stayed with these characters  🙂

For this to be a debut novel is mind-blowing and I for one am incredibly excited to read her next book .

A tale of love loss hope and second chances, perfect for fans of Jojo moyes and Rowan Coleman who are goddesses in the writing game .