BOOK REVIEW GOOD ME BAD ME BY ALI LAND

‘NEW NAME .
NEW FAMILY.
SHINY.
NEW.
ME.’

Annie’s mother is a serial killer.

The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.

But out of sight is not out of mind.

As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.

A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.

But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.

Good me, bad me.

She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

Translated into over 20 languages, Good Me Bad Me is a tour de force. In its narrator, Milly Barnes, we have a voice to be reckoned with, and in its author, Ali Land, an extraordinary new talent.

 

 

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017 ,I had been recommended it last summer by bryony Gordon when I met her on one of her mental health mates walks . I then saw lots of praise from fellow bloggers and authors so I couldn’t wait to dig in.

I brought it yesterday lunchtime and it was devoured by night-time .

This was everything and more I expected .

To see the author worked at camhs struck a chord with me as my family have had much involvement with them.

I also have a huge passion for the nature/nurture debate since studying various strands of psychology over the last 10 years . This is a running them throughout this book and it really makes your brain tick .

Fantastically written with a excellent addictive narrative , I could not put this down .

Compelling and chilling this will get under your skin ,I’ve read a lot of psychological thrillers and this is one of the best that makes you squirm while reading . To get into the mind of a young girl who happens to be the same age as my daughter is always helpful for me as a parent ,however this had the extra ingredient.  She witnessed horrific sights and loves her mum but at same time knows what she did was wrong .

Identity is so important and something Milly is struggling with …. being the spit of her mum in looks is she also in terms of behaviour??

How much of what we do and who we are  is written in stone becauae of our DNA and how much is environmental .

 

Excellent ,dark and disturbing and already in my honest opinion one of the best debuts I’ve not only read this year but ever .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

