BOOK REVIEW THE SWIMMING POOL BY LOUISE CANDLISH 

‘I can’t take my eyes off the water. Can you?’

It’s summer when Elm Hill lido opens, having stood empty for years. For Natalie Steele – wife, mother, teacher – it offers freedom from the tightly controlled routines of work and family. Especially when it leads her to Lara Channing, a charismatic former actress with a lavish bohemian lifestyle, who seems all too happy to invite Natalie into her elite circle.

Soon Natalie is spending long days at the pool, socializing with new friends and basking in a popularity she didn’t know she’d been missing. Real life, and the person she used to be, begins to feel very far away.

But is such a change in fortunes too good to be true? Why are dark memories of a summer long ago now threatening to surface? And, without realizing, could Natalie have been swept dangerously out of her depth?

 

 

 

 

I was so excited to read this especially hearing nothing but great reviews on it .

I discovered Louise only last year when I won a copy of the sudden departure of the Frasers  . That immediately had me hooked onto her writing .

The swimming pool has it all for me ,the title had me excited as an avid swimmer . The cover is striking and sets the tone for the story.

This is suffocating and  chilling and I  had to take a deep breath when I turned that final page .

I was hooked instantly!

Louise’s writing has the ability to leave you feeling emotionally drained and that you enter someone’s life .

Within this book the dynamics of family especially within raising a teenage daughter are looked at which i can relate to.

But also the friendships we make at different stages of our lives and why we make them??

We watch her transform her life in one summer in the aftermath of developing a new friendship.

At what cost does this new popularity come ? 

I loved loved this book and I need to read all her back catalogue.

This gets right under your skin and makes fascinating reading 

Leave a Reply

