BOOK REVIEW LOVE ANTHONY BY LISA GENOVA

Olivia Donatelli’s dream of a ‘normal’ life was shattered when her son, Anthony, was diagnosed with autism at the age of three. He didn’t speak. He hated to be touched. He almost never made eye contact. And just as Olivia was starting to realise that happiness and autism could coexist, Anthony died. Now she’s alone in a cottage on Nantucket, separated from her husband, desperate to understand the meaning of her son’s short life, when a chance encounter with another woman facing her own loss brings Anthony alive again for Olivia in a most unexpected way. In a piercing story about motherhood, love and female friendship, Lisa Genova offers us two unforgettable women on the verge of change who discover the small but exuberant voice that helps them both find the answers they need.

I picked this book up at the library by sheer chance and im so glad I did .

I couldn’t put it down and read it in one day between meetings cooking and looking after the kids .

When I finished I couldn’t stop crying.This book will leave a place in my heart forever and I want to thank Lisa for capturing so much with her words.

My son has autism so I could relate so much to the mum and also feel connected to the boy.

Beautifully and sensitively written and this would make a fantastic film that would bring a lot of awareness to the autism mind and how it impacts people .

I have read left neglected by the same author which was another amazing powerful read .

This isn’t just about autism though ,there’s marriage ,friendship ,love ,lies and the power of writing .

I will be recommending this to so many people .

Leave a Reply

