BOOK REVIEW MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES BY JASMINE WARGA

A brilliant and heartbreaking new novel for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, about two strangers who want to die… and, in meeting each other, learn how to live.

I’m getting higher and higher and I feel the swing set creak.

‘Be careful,’ he says.

‘Why?’ I’m not thinking about being careful. I’m thinking about one last push, of letting go, of flying, and of falling.

‘You aren’t allowed to die without me,’ he whispers.

Aysel and Roman are practically strangers, but they’ve been drawn into an unthinkable partnership. In a month’s time, they plan to commit suicide – together.

Aysel knows why she wants to die: being the daughter of a murderer doesn’t equal normal, well-adjusted teenager. But she can’t figure out why handsome, popular Roman wants to end it all…and why he’s even more determined than she is.

With the deadline getting closer, something starts to grow between Aysel and Roman – a feeling she never thought she would experience. It seems there might be something to live for, after all – but is Aysel in so deep she can’t turn back?

I borrowed this from the library after having my eye on it for a while .

I whizzed through as it was written in easy to read chapters kind of in the form of a diary.

I loved it and everything it stood for .

Similarities will be made between this and all the bright places ,both powerful reads but this one I enjoyed more.

A great debut novel which deals with real life impacting issues that are happening all around us . This is breaking the taboo of mental health simply by writing about it and I thank the author for that .

This is sensitively written with the right amount of warmth and sincerity that makes it so easy to relate to .

I was impacted a lot from this book  and urge anyone to read this .

Leave a Reply

