BOOK REVIEW THE CROOKED HOUSE BY CHRISTOBEL KENT

One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison’s story.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller follows one woman’s search for the truth about her family history.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else’s – or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she’s been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

Thank you to Kirsteen at Little brown for sending me a copy to review .

The cover immediately intrigued me its very eerie just like the concept .

For me this didn’t cut the grade against other psychological thrillers I have read this year as there have been such a high standard .

It was a great storyline and was very creepy and twisted or should I say crooked. You did get into Alisons mind and you could feel her panic and fears off the ages .

However I did find some parts predictable  so didn’t complety shock me .

A dark read but just not gripping enough for me .

Advertisements

One comment on “BOOK REVIEW THE CROOKED HOUSE BY CHRISTOBEL KENT

  1. Pingback: MARCH WRAP UP | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s