BOOK REVIEW THE LIARS CHAIR BY REBECCA WHITNEY

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business . . . They have everything.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack.

Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David’s darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar’s Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney’s debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from . . .

*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty’s Apple Tree Yard*

A big thank you to Alison at Transworld books who sent me this to review and I received on Christmas eve and I started and finished on Christmas eve ,was a nice gift to me .

Firstly the cover is striking and one of those you find yourself looking at a lot .

I was hooked instantly .

This book doesn’t make for pleasant reading so be warned ,its uncomfortable and quite grim in some places.

Its chilling and dark .The writing was brilliant in that you could feel the tension in the room within the characters .

Its disturbing and gets under your skin and the husband is really controlling . The characters are no very high morale nice people but they make for great reading !!

There are some great psychological thrillers coming in 2015 and ive been very lucky to review some .They certainly will distract you from that depressing month of January but don’t read if you want a happy ever after .

Im surprised this is a debut novel ,the writing is brilliant and original .

Publsihed on 15th January 2015

Advertisements

One comment on “BOOK REVIEW THE LIARS CHAIR BY REBECCA WHITNEY

  1. Pingback: December wrap up | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s