BOOK REVIEW AFTER THE STORM BY JANE LYTHELL

Some secrets destroy you.

Rob and Anna have only just met Owen and Kim. Now they’ve boarded their handsome old boat to travel to a far off island in the Caribbean.

With only the four of them on board, it should be paradise: lazy afternoons spent snorkelling; long nights enjoying the silence and solitude of the sea.

But why does Owen never sleep? Why is he so secretive about his past? And why does Kim keep a knife zipped into her money-belt? Anna can usually get people to talk… but this time, does she want to ?

Firstly a huge thank you to Becci at Head of zeus for sending me a copy to review .I had the pleasure of meeting the lovely jane at a author event and then I read her debut novel the lie of you which I devoured and loved !!

Therefore I was eager to read her new book.

The cover is striking and so is the descriptive of the setting of the book . Jane has a way of capturing the essence of the characters and the location that makes you transported there .

This is a very tense edgy book ,you can feel it in your body as you turn the pages.You do feel like you are  waiting for something to happen as theres such a atmospheric build up .

The relationships between the 4 ‘friends’ ,we shall use that term loosely are like a rollercoaster with highs and lows and they not knowing where the stand with each other . It had a sense  of big brother to it at how the dynamics can change in such a short time!

We can tell quite early on that owen has a secret and he makes for addictive but often uncomfortable reading .

I did often find myself getting confused with the narrative and at first the characters were getting mixed u in my head but once I realised the flow of the book I was fine .

I didn’t like kim and I don’t think I would have liked to have lived in quite close proximity to her on a boat!! Jane asked me who my favourite character was and it varied from Anna to Rob.Rob seemed a laid back person someone you  could easily get along with and Anna obviously had a kind heart and was a caring person .

Through Janes fantastic writing I had clear images of the characters in my head and did feel I was there on the boat and on the island.

I think shes able to attract a variety of readers with what her books are offering .

This is definitely  going to kick start the new year in the bookshops .

A exotic ,adventurous ,thrilling exciting read riddled with secrets an mystery .

Published 7th januray in paperback and available as e book now .

One comment on “BOOK REVIEW AFTER THE STORM BY JANE LYTHELL

  1. Pingback: December wrap up | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

