BOOK REVIEW THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE BY KERRY FISHER

Maia Etxeleku is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. With mops and buckets in tow, she spends her days dashing from house to house cleaning up after them, as they rush from one exhausting Pilates class to the next.

But an unusual inheritance catapults her into the very exclusive world of Stirling Hall School – a place where no child can survive without organic apricots and no woman goes a week without a manicure.

As Maia and her children, Bronte and Harley, try to settle into their new life, Maia is inadvertently drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in. But is his interest in her purely professional? And will it win her any favours at the school gate?

A hilarious, straight-talking read for anyone who’s ever despaired at the politics of the school run.

I picked this up as the cover really jumped out at me and any book surrounding parents and the dramas of school are great to relate to .

I had the absolute pleasure of meeting Kerry at the Hampstead and Highgate literacy festival who was lovely .

I finished this book early hours this morning and alongside waking up to the storm today is a day I wish I drunk coffee lol

This book has everything and more ,I loved it, there was laughter and tears .

Within a few chapters I disliked Maia partner colin very much and by the end he reminded me a lot of my abusive ex so I was really cheering Maia on in her quest to better her life and her kids.

We meet an array of different character’s ,I loved clover she had me in stitches and she turned out to be a great friend to Maia when she needed her which cant be said for her so called best friend sandy .

I fell in love with  Mr peters who looks beyond Maias social and financial status and sees her for the women she really is.

This book deals with some serious issues but mixed with funny enjoyable moments . Its a story of how life gets turned upside down and is it for the better?

I think a lot of parents will be able to relate to this book. This is a real honest  heartwarming book

I cried happy tears at the ending which I didn’t see coming .

Really enjoyed this book and look forward to her next book.

One comment on “BOOK REVIEW THE SCHOOL GATE SURVIVAL GUIDE BY KERRY FISHER

  1. Pingback: September book wrap up :) | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

