BOOK REVIEW THE LEMON GROVE BY HELEN WALSH

Image

Each summer, Jenn and her husband Greg return to Deia, on Mallorca’s dramatic west coast. This year the arrival of Emma, Jenn’s stepdaughter, and her new boyfriend Nathan threatens to upset their equilibrium. Beautiful and reckless, Nathan stirs something unexpected in Jenn. As she is increasingly seduced by Nathan’s youth and the promise of passion, the line between desire and obsession begins to blur. What follows is a highly-charged liaison  that puts lives and relationships in jeopardy. For Jenn, after this summer, nothing can ever be the same .

Firstly thank you to Georgina Moore from headline for sending me a copy to review.

I apologise if this review is a bit all over the place, its been a eventual week .

I love the cover and colours of this book especially as a huge lover of swimming and water myself .

I had been hearing great things about this book when it was released in hardback by other book bloggers so was intrigued to read it .

It was a lot shorter than I thought meaning I read in one afternoon .

For me it left me feeling it was a average read which I was surprised by.

I found myself wanting more especially with the ending . It seemed quite far fetched especially as a mums point of view.

However I really enjoyed the easy flow of writing and the location in the book.

I couldn’t relate to Jenn in many ways but I could in the sense of losing our identities getting older and wanting to be desired effect

It did leave me feeling uncomfortable an maybe that was the desired effect ,and I have to ask the question would this have been so popular if the 17 year old was a girl ?

Ideal for a quick summer read which I did today in the glorious sun .

This is due to be released in paperback on June 19th

 

 

Leave a Reply

