Book review dear thing by Julie Cohen

After years of watching her best friends Ben and Claire try for a baby, Romily offered to give them the one thing they most wanted.

But Romily wasn’t prepared for the overwhelming feelings that have taken hold of her and which threaten to ruin her friendship with Ben and Claire – and even destroy their marriage.

Now there are three friends, two mothers and only one baby, and an impossible decision to make

From what I can remember I haven’t read any of Julie’s books previously so I was excited to discover a new author .
This covers a very controversial subject and one that everyone has a opinion on .
This book is very clever in that it shows you the thoughts and feelings of all those concerned and not just focusing on the surrogate or the mother to be .
Her writing really reminds me of rowan Coleman whose work I have only discovered this year.They write beautifully and with great depth .
This book gave me a greater understanding of a subject I’m very unlikely to be in and in which I was very ignorant about .
I assumed it was quite clear cut but with most subjects it’s really not .
You can relate to both the women but I did relate more to Romily who was bit all over the place and did remind me of me .

All throughout I was trying to figure out how it would end and at one point thought I was right ….

This is cleverly written to make you think and question your own beliefs.
I look forward to reading more of Julies books .thing

One comment on “Book review dear thing by Julie Cohen

  1. Pingback: May wrap up #Thismonthiread | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

