BOOK REVIEW – THE MEMORY BOOK BY ROWAN COLEMAN

Image

The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address…

 

What would happen if your memory of these began to fade?

 

Is it possible to rebuild your life? Raise a family? Fall in love again?

 

When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold on to the past when her future is slipping through her fingers…?

 

Now let me begin by saying despite the fact I have drafted a review earlier today I still am anxious to ensure I write this review well and that I get across our amazing and beautiful it is .

I haven’t read any of rowans books before and after hearing such praise via other book bloggers and lovers on twitter I was very eager to get a copy. I hunted for a copy in fact in the end ordering from amazon. Even when you see the book your blown away by its appeal ,it even enticed my daughter to enquire what I was reading .

The main storyline is deep and sad with the main characters decline health wise in Alzheimer’s .I haven’t got much awareness of this condition so it was interesting to learn how this affects peoples life. However despite it being a emotional book there are moments of comedy and love which melted my heart .

I could relate to elements of the book in regards to Claire being a single mum for a while with her eldest daughter Caitlin and how the dynamics of their relationship is  , I am a single mum so this spoke volumes to me.There is one part in particular which I did have to clse the book for a moment to digest as it was very meaninghul to me and this is ” I might have made  Caitlin ,but she made me too.”  This is exactly how I feel about my daughter as I had her young and feel I have found who I am from being her mum 🙂

I ended this book with a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes ,it is such a emotionally powerful and beautifully written book .

I look forward to reading more of her books .

 

 

 

 

One comment on “BOOK REVIEW – THE MEMORY BOOK BY ROWAN COLEMAN

  1. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW DEAREST ROSE BY ROWAN COLEMAN | supermum ......... wheres my cape ???

Leave a Reply

